BOOKS RECEIVED FROM PUBLISHERS & AUTHORS IN MARCH

Receiving books from publishers and authors always puts a smile on my face and happiness in my heart. This month I received quite a few review copies and ARCs which definitely brightened my month.

Many thank-yous to those who sent books my way! I appreciate them more than you know and they all have a special place on my shelf.

Without further ado, let us look at the books I received.


FROM PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE SOUTH AFRICA

Are You Watching by Vincent Ralph

A page-turning new YA thriller for the social media age, perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder and One Of Us Is Lying. Ten years ago, Jess’s mother was murdered by the Magpie Man. She was the first of his victims but not the last. Now Jess is the star of a YouTube reality series and she’s using it to catch the killer once and for all. The whole world is watching her every move. And so is the Magpie Man.


Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

A debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. Her mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia Gentileschi had a stark choice: a life as a nun in a convent or a life grinding pigment for her father’s paint. She chose paint. By the time she was seventeen, Artemisia did more than grind pigment. She was one of Rome’s most talented painters, even if no one knew her name. But Rome in 1610 was a city where men took what they wanted from women, and in the aftermath of rape Artemisia faced another terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost.


Noughts & Crosses by Malorie Blackman

Sephy is a Cross: dark-skinned and beautiful, she lives a life of privilege and power. But she’s lonely, and burns with injustice at the world she sees around her. Callum is a nought: pale-skinned and poor, he’s considered to be less than nothing – a blanker, there to serve Crosses – but he dreams of a better life. They’ve been friends since they were children, and they both know that’s as far as it can ever go. Noughts and Crosses are fated to be bitter enemies – love is out of the question. Then – in spite of a world that is fiercely against them – these star-crossed lovers choose each other. But this is love story that will lead both of them into terrible danger . . . and which will have shocking repercussions for generations to come.


PRH South Africa has been sending books my way almost since the beginning of my bookstagram/book reviewer journey, so a special thank-you to them for sending me these. All of them sound so intriguing and exciting and I cannot wait to get to them all.


FROM NETGALLEY

Ghosted in L.A. Volume 1 by Sina Grace

Daphne Walters moves to Los Angeles and finds that the only ones who can help her find love and live life to the fullest are the ghosts of her new home! In Los Angeles, finding an apartment is killer—unless you live with the dead. Daphne Walters moves to Los Angeles for her boyfriend Ronnie, ready to live her happily ever after. But when happily ever after turns into happily for a month, she’s stuck in a strange city with no friends, family, or prospects for fun. Desperate to escape the lingering ghost of Ronnie’s presence everywhere, Daphne sets out to explore the city—and ends up encountering ghosts of a more literal kind! Rycroft Manor is abandoned, beautiful, and haunted. Will the dead be able to help Daphne find the life she’s been missing in the big city? From GLAAD Award-nominated Sina Grace (Iceman) and illustrator Siobhan Keenan (Jem and the Holograms) comes a story about learning how to make friends, find love, and live life to the fullest with a little help from some friends whose lives didn’t end at death. Collects Ghosted In L.A #1-4.


Eat, and Love Yourself by Sweeney Boo

A story about Mindy, a woman living with an eating disorder who has to learn how to love herself again. In pursuit of the perfect body, Mindy buys the low-fat diet products and the glossy magazines which promise the secret to losing weight. One night, while perusing the aisles of the neighborhood convenience store for a midnight snack, she finds a new product. A chocolate bar called “Eat and Love Yourself”. On a whim, Mindy buys the curious candy, not knowing that with every piece of chocolate she eats, she will be brought back to a specific moment of her past — helping her to look at herself honestly, learn to love her body the way it is, and accepting love. Perhaps, she will even realize that her long lost high school best friend, Elliot, was more than just a friend… 


Eighteen Inches by Mirtha Michelle Castro Mármol

These poems explore the distance between the head and the heart—and all of the pain, beauty, and hope in between. This book is one woman’s account of her longing to know herself fully. Her mind, body, and soul. This book might make you cry, fill you with nostalgia, empower you, or even give you hope. You might not see eye to eye with every idea inside, but with any luck you’ll see your soul reflected in its pages. You will question things. You will remember your past. You will be thankful for your present. You will dream a new dream. Above all, you will feel. Welcome to the journey of Eighteen Inches, a battlefield between a woman’s beat-up heart and her complex mind.


After reading the synopses of these three, I just knew I had to pick them up. I was over the moon when I got approved. Thank you so much NetGalley, BOOM! Studios and Andrews McMeel Publishing! I already read the first two and really liked them. A mini review will be written of each and I will post it in the coming month, so keep an eye out if you are interested.


FROM AUTHOR

Tournament of the Lost by Jonathan Hunter

In a macabre ring-world forgotten by time, a tournament is to be held, a tournament thought to never plague the divided kingdoms of Aeden again. A band of unlikely friends will test the perils of hell and taste heaven’s forbidden fruits. But who stands behind this tournament and more importantly why now? Ten thousand will fight for riches beyond their dreams, six kingdoms will be the devil’s playground, and only one will survive, but none will be left standing in the Tournament of the Lost.


The First Gate by Jonathan Hunter

A young knights promotion is turned into a living nightmare when he is sent to the infamous First Gate. Posted deep beneath the world of Aeden he will face horrors older than world he has left behind.


The author sent me a message asking if I would like to review these two books and I immediately jumped at the chance. I have been seeing Tournament of the Lost  around bookstagram and my friends, who have read and reviewed it, really loved it. I had it on my list of books to check out, so receiving these were a sign for me to pick them up. I cannot wait to binge read both really soon!


Keep on reading and never stop telling stories.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s